An Ode to Adventure

Where the Wild Things Are Film Still

Film Still from ‘Where the Wild Things Are’

Adventure is defined in the dictionary as being a wild and exciting undertaking; to take a risk with the hopes of a favourable outcome.

I am a bit of an adventurer. It has been said that I have a spontaneous, get-on-with-it attitude. They’re right. I love to come up with wild and exciting ideas, and put them into action. Straight. Away. And here I am!

So who am I?

Well, my name is Clare and I am 22 years old. I am a creative through and through, and love to make, draw and play the piano. Knitting  and crochet have been my first love since the age of 13, followed closely by sewing. It is when I am creating something that I feel most alive! I am currently a Fashion Knitwear student at Nottingham Trent University, in my 3rd year of a 4 year degree, which means that I have spent the entirety of this year doing work placements. Having worked for some great people and learnt so much more about the fashion industry, there came the desire to sample some of this for myself; to have a go at putting what I have learnt into practice.

And so, ThreadBEAR was born.

ThreadBEAR is a handmade clothing and accessories label, for women with lights in their eyes and dreams in their hearts. It’s a vision to create clothing that allows women to express themselves through colour, silhouette and style. I want to create accessories that can bring something beautiful to a very simple outfit. The kind of things that you would love to gift to your most wonderful friends. As it stands, my Etsy shop contains accessories and jewellery pieces, but I am working on an exciting line of womenswear, which will be coming soon. As with most new projects, every day is a challenge: learning all that is involved in running a small, creative business. What started as a whim, making some bits and bobs to earn a bit of money over the summer, has turned into something much bigger, and I relish the adventure.

There are a couple of reasons why I decided to start blogging.

For Community

Before I created this blog, I used tumblr as my main ‘website’ type thing. I loved the format and the way that I could be inspired by other people’s creativity and lives. But there was something missing: communication. More than anything, I just want to authentically connect with you, and whilst tumblr is a visual delight, there is no real way I can connect with you. I am still keeping my tumblr going, but this blog is a way of creating community: meeting other creative people and supporting one another in our creativity. Plus, it’s fun!

To Share

We all have a lot to give, don’t we? Different skills that we have, inspiration, motivation… This blog will be a place where I can share my life and my dreams with you, in the hopes that you will share yours with me. I will celebrate my successes and maybe even give you a glimpse into my failures, if you’re lucky! This will be a place full of visual beauty, fashion and inspiration; somewhere you can come to learn new skills through tutorials and DIYs. I hope it will encourage you to share your life’s adventures with me too!

And now, I invite you to join me on this adventure and follow me as we muddle our way through the creative terrain. Maybe you will encourage others to do the same. Why not share in the comments what adventure you are embarking on at the moment?

Leave a Reply

