Interview with Joy Mumford

Joy Mumford

I thought I would do something new for my blog today! Some of you may recognise Joy Mumford from my recent ThreadBEAR photoshoot, but what you may not know is that, not only is she a wonderful model, but she is also the most incredible singer songwriter. I really wanted to share her music with you guys, so here is my interview with Miss Mumford!

So Joy, tell us about yourself!

I am a 19-year-old singer songwriter from Nottingham. I started learning to play classical piano from around the age of 7 for years, but I really didn’t like it at the time. However, I loved the idea of being able to express what you felt through music, so I began writing songs and getting involved with school talent shows, bands and choirs over the years soon after!

I never thought I was that good, but I just really enjoyed doing it and had support from people who encouraged me to keep going. I picked up an acoustic guitar back when I was in secondary school, and I was so desperate to learn how to play that that’s all I did for the entire summer. Even now I don’t think I’ll ever put it down…

What inspires your music?

I really love stories and poetry, so a lot of things I write normally have metaphorical meanings influenced by a situation someone else is going through, or things that I’m currently experiencing. Also, having grown up in church, I’ve seen how music can be used to change minds and emotions, so my faith ends up leading me to write about lots of crazy little topics, especially love. I also grew up in a family that listened to basically everything, from Whitney and Stevie, to Bowie and The Beatles, so taking this all in from a young age really helped me find out what I wanted to sound like as an artist myself.

Of all the songs you have written, which is your favourite and why?

The song, ‘Cake and Tea’! I wanted to write about love from a sort of child-like and innocent point of view, but also a practical one too without using all the obvious clichés. I think it’s also a fun feel-good song, and that’s what I’d like people to take away from my music. However my most recent favourite is one called ‘Lullaby’s and Candy Don’t Do It’. I really enjoyed experimenting with acoustic soul and using thick and bright harmonies…I guess to sum it up, it sounds like summer! It’s not out yet, but it will be on my next EP, so keep a look out!

And you can listen to Joy’s favourite track, Cake and Tea, here!

And finally, what are your hopes for the future?

I’m releasing an EP later this year, so I’m really hoping that will be received well and that it will lead me on to new things. I want to keep gigging, hopefully at bigger venues over time, writing and experiencing more, collaborating with other talented people, and just basically see more of the world!

So there we have it! Miss Joy Mumford, ladies and gents. If you have now fallen in love with Joy as much as I have, why not go like her page on facebook, or have a browse through her Youtube channel. A personal highlight is her official video ‘For You, My Friend’. Go watch!

2 responses to “Interview with Joy Mumford

Leave a Reply

