How to Save Money and Make Your Own Craft Fair Banner

Craft Fair Banner Tutorial Vintage Fabric and Ribbon

Craft Fair Banner Tutorial with Ribbon and Vintage Fabric

ThreadBEAR Craft Fair Banner TutorialWhat a wonderful weekend it has been! Some of my family came to visit, and we spent it eating, laughing and reminiscing – perfect!

But whilst it was a beautiful time, I was also aware that I only have a week left until my fair at the Nottingham Contemporary with a fair few things left to sort out, so when they went for a walk on Sunday afternoon, I took the opportunity to make my ThreadBEAR banner for the table. It was so simple and effective, that I thought I would share it with you!

You will need:

  • A piece of fabric of your choice, slightly larger than you need your banner in order to make room for hemming.
  • A spool of ribbon roughly 2cm wide, and at least 5m long. I used exactly 5m for ThreadBEAR.
  • Sewing thread to match the ribbon
  • Sewing thread to match the fabric
  • Dressmaking pins
  • Pencil

Method:

  1. Lightly draw out your logo/chosen words onto your fabric, trying to keep it central and straight. I would suggest it needs to be written in cursive to get the best effect, although I’m sure you could get a nice effect regardless. It would just be more fiddly.
  2. Cut a little triangle out of the start of your ribbon for a little flourish, and start to ‘draw’ with the ribbon, following your pencil lines and pinning regularly as you go along.
  3. Don’t worry about it not lying flat on the fabric. The lovely thing about this is that it has a nice 3D texture when you’re done :)
  4. When you get to the end of your word/s, cut out a little triangle at the end to finish neatly.
  5. Using a sewing machine, threaded up with matching thread, use a single line of straight stitch through the centre of the ribbon to attach. It’s almost like you are writing the word with your stitching. A freehand embroidery foot would be super helpful with this, but I couldn’t get mine to work and still got a great finish with a standard foot.
  6. Neaten up the edges of your banner, by giving them a trim to straighten them up and make sure the word is central.
  7. Using the thread that matches your fabric, do a double fold on each edge of the banner, pin and stitch them down to hem it.
  8. You are done!

Optional:

I left mine at that, as I plan on safety pinning my banner to my table-cloth, but if you need to tie yours up, you could always add a couple of metal eyelets in the top corners.

Awesome.

Please share this with your friends and followers. Tweet it, pin it, like it. Why not share your comments below or link back to banners you have made? I’m excited to see your results!

2 responses to “How to Save Money and Make Your Own Craft Fair Banner

    • Thanks Maddie! I was a little concerned before I made it that you wouldn’t be able to read it easily, but I was thrilled to see how bold it ended up being! Hopefully it’ll get my stall noticed :)

Leave a Reply

