Experimenting with Knitted Structures

Pleated Knit Structure on the Mannequin

Pleating and Twisting Knit on the Mannequin

Last Monday, I officially started back at university, and I am now in my final year (ahh!) of my Fashion Knitwear degree. I can’t believe it has finally come around. I somehow thought I’d feel a bit more grown-up or something?! Ha, I am learning that you never truly ‘grow up.’

So this week has been spent just getting back into the swing of things, with a mini set of workshops focused on form. I have never actually worked properly on the mannequin from scratch before, having only done flat pattern cutting, but this was a wonderful opportunity to just get really creative and experiment with a variety of forms on the body.

Since you guys must be remotely interested in knit (you are reading my blog, after all!) I thought you’d like to see what my experiments with knitted fabric have come up with. My particular favourite was the piece above, but below are a few ideas I thought had potential too. These ideas won’t necessarily become a paper pattern to create a garment from, but will be used as inspiration for our next garment project.

I’d love to know which one is your favourite, so please share with me in the comments section below!

Origami Folded Knit Structure on the Mannequin

Shoulder Ideas for Knit on the Mannequin

Knit Draping on the Stand

4 responses to “Experimenting with Knitted Structures

  1. I like the second and fourth one. Those are my favorites (they’re somewhat similar). When I was a technical designer, I was in the knits department and many of the patterns created for the designs started with the form. We would drape the style according to the sketch the designer gave to us (the techs) and then the pattern was trued. It was always interesting to see what pattern shapes that our drapes created – there would be no way to draft it.

    Good luck with your final year!

    • I can totally see why you’d often use the form. It makes so much sense! And as a visual person, it means that I can experiment without having to worry at first about whether I can draft it. I can tell that me and my mannequin will get on pretty well this year ;)

  2. I love number one for the sheer texture/volume you have created. Number four is also fantastic- the folds and pleats looks great! Best of luck in your final year of study!

Leave a Reply

